Flux RSS

Music to share : with Matthew JL Thomson


So, so… it’s been a couple of weeks since my last post and I don’t really know why I abandon my blog each time… I really don’t like that and I hope that i’m coming back for good this time ^^

So I have some news. I’m starting a new project I called  »Music to share », The idea is to share a cover or an original song with other musicians ! So there’s one rule : No solo performances, and one objective : Sharing with friends our musical dreams and passion through a song… A project that I hope will allow me to meet new friends, discover new musical styles and of course enhance my skills. I’m very optimist and I think it will be a nice experience !

For the two first covers, I had the great pleasure of sharing good times with my dear friend Matthew Thomson. We’re in ramadan, 2 hours before L’ftour and we thought it would be the best way to say goodbye. In fact, Matt went back to Canada 3 days after the recording. It’s been 1 year that he’s with us in Morocco.

mohamed ali ghassani Matt thomson

But, who the hell is Matt ? Matt is a 28 years old cool canadian guy. We first met at Casablanca’s American Language Center  where we’ve been working together on the ALC Music club development. The club was growing fast, our friendship too! We’ve shared great moments with all the friends, rehearsals, live shows, sound system’s problems 😀 … so many nice memories.

Mohamed ali ghassani Matthew thomson essaouira

But, Matt is first and foremost a very passionate musician. If he defines himself as a bass player, he have never refused to play other instruments to help the other members of the club expressing their talents… Guitar, Ukelele, shaker and even singing. I’ve even discovered that he has a harmonica… Matt ! is it your hidden talent ??

With Matthew Thomson at the American language center

Now that Matt is in his way back home (Visiting some European countries before flying to Ontario), I will surely miss the kind guy and the talented artist he was. but I’ll keep these two covers as a souvenir and of course his epic Fender Dobro he sold me before he left. Don’t care Matt, your guitar is in good hands.  And don’t forget that you’re welcome whenever you want, we’ll miss you here ! Keep rocking dude ^^

Cheers from Morocco !

Laisser un commentaire

